Powered By
HomeNews ArticlesGubecka Gold in Israel
Australian Dolphins | 13 November 2022

Gubecka Gold in Israel

Dolphin Chelsea Gubecka has headlined a strong weekend for Australian athletes at the last stop of the FINA Marathon World Series in Eilat, Israel with a remarkable final lap to secure Gold in the Women’s 10km Open Water race.

Gubecka executed her race plan to perfection, charging to the lead on the final lap and finishing strongly to record her first win of the series and beat two of the best open water swimmers on record in the process, Ana Marcela Cunha and Sharon Van Rouwendaal.

“I’m a bit speechless, to be honest,” Gubecka said.

“I got on that last lap, and I just had that little extra surge of energy – it felt great.”

It was Gubecka’s second medal of the meet as she swam a powerful second leg in the mixed relay, moving from fifth to second place, to claim Silver as part of Team Green alongside Bianca Crisp, Kyle Lee and Nick Sloman.

Australia’s second relay squad, Team Gold, saw Finella Gibbs-Beal, Madisyn Armstrong, Bailey Armstrong and Kai Edwards finish in sixth.

Sloman was the best of the Australians in the Men’s 10km event, navigating a spirited finish from the field to place 11th in a highly competitive race.

The Noosa Swimming Club product finished the World Series in sixth place in the overall rankings with two podium finishes across the three events.

The full list of results from the final stop in Israel can be found below.

Mixed 4x1500m Relay
Team Green – Chelsea Gubecka, Bianca Crisp, Kyle Lee and Nick Sloman.

Team Gold – Finella Gibbs-Beal, Madisyn Armstrong, Bailey Armstrong and Kai Edwards

Women’s 10km
1st – Chelsea Gubecka (1:56:19.80)
22nd – Moesha Johnson (1:56:44.60)
26th – Bianca Crisp (1:56:57.30)
31st – Finella Gibbs-Beal (1:57:43.50)
38th – Madisyn Armstrong (1:59:14.50)

Men’s 10km
11th – Nick Sloman (1:46:56.60)
15th – Kyle Lee (1:46:59.80)
17th – Kai Edwards (1:47:03.40)
21st – Thomas Raymond (1:47:13.50)
24th – Bailey Armstrong (1:47:23.10)
30th – Jack Wilson (1:49:48.60)
47th – Killian Carrel (1:57:48.10)
49th – Robbe Dilissen (1:57:59.30)