HomeNews ArticlesImpressive Aussies Headline Night Three of Sydney Sprints
Australian Dolphins | 27 August 2022

Impressive Aussies Headline Night Three of Sydney Sprints

The Penultimate night of action in the 2022 Australian Short Course Championships at Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre has produced another round of intriguing Finals results, headlined by some rising stars in Australian swimming.

Alexa Leary (S9) added the Women’s 100m Freestyle Multi-Class crown to the 50m title she won on night 2, and it was a similar story for USC Spartans athlete, and recent member of Australia’s Commonwealth Games team Alex Perkins, who proved too strong in the Women’s 100m Butterfly following her win in the 50 on night 1.

But it wasn’t just the young guns making waves at SOPAC, with some familiar names also leaving their mark on night 3.

Matt Temple reaffirmed his position as Australia’s premier male flyer with a convincing victory 100m Final, while it was a return to form for Clyde Lewis, swimming an impressive personal best to claim the Men’s 200m Medley in the 4th fastest time in history by an Australian.

Other highlights from night 3 included:

  • A clinical performance from Lani Pallister to claim the Women’s 400m Freestyle crown almost 6 seconds clear of her nearest competitor.
  • Jack Ireland‘s continued dominance of the Multi-Class Freestyle finals with a convincing victory in the Men’s 100m.
  • Minna Atherton as the only athlete under 27 seconds to claim another Australian title in the Women’s 50m backstroke.

The visiting American athletes also continued their good form from the opening two nights with a further three victories – Beata Nelson in the Women’s 200m Medley, Luke Hobson in the Men’s 400m Freestyle and Justin Ress in the Men’s 50m Backstroke.

The fourth and final night of competition commences at SOPAC from 6pm this evening.

You can catch all the Heats and Finals action streamed LIVE on News Corp’s KommunityTV platform.

Night Three Winners:

Women’s 100m Freestyle Multi-Class

Alexa Leary (S9)St Hildas59.71 (1117)
Katja Dedekind (S13)Yeronga Park57.84 (1078)
Hannah Price (S9)Campbelltown1:06.86 (795)

Men’s 100m Freestyle Multi-Class

Jack Ireland (S14)University of Queensland51.28 (1048)
Jake Michel (S14)Carina Leagues53.99 (898)
Dylan Logan (S15)Geelong53.15 (867)

Women’s 100m Butterfly

Alex PerkinsUSC Spartans56.89
Brittany CastelluzzoTea Tree Gully57.18
Laura TaylorBond57.98

Men’s 100m Butterfly 

Matt TempleMarion50.09
Trenton JulianUSA50.22
Shaun ChampionAbbotsleigh50.31

Women’s 400m Freestyle

Lani PallisterGriffith University3:56.74
Leah NealeChandler4:02.25
Jacinta EssamGinninderra4:12.08

Men’s 400m Freestyle

Luke HobsonUSA3:35.67
Mack HortonGriffith University3:37.94
Tommy NeilRackley3:38.24

Men’s 200m Medley Multi-Class

Joshua Alford (SM14)University of Queensland2:21.60 (765)
Darren Sisman (SM14)Sans Souci2:22.12 (756)
Samuel Gould (SM14)Helensvale2:23.35 (737)

Women’s 200m Medley Multi-Class

Hannah Price (SM9)Campbelltown2:41.14 (783)
Nicole Taylor (SM15)Griffith2:38.55 (766)
Maddison Hinds (SM14)Hornsby2:37.59 (749)

Women’s 200m Medley

Beata NelsonUSA2:05.38
Kayla HardyCruiz2:09.69
Lucy DringSunshine Coast Grammar2:10.87

Men’s 200m Medley

Clyde LewisGriffith University1:53.01
Grant HouseUSA1:53.05
Se-Bom LeeCarlile1:53.83

Women’s 50m Backstroke

Minna AthertonBond26.68
Holly BarrattRockingham27.02
Tahlia ThorntonUSC Spartans27.37

Men’s 50m Backstroke

Justin RessUSA23.16
Isaac CooperBundaberg23.31
Mark NikolaevRussia23.34

Women’s 4 x 100m Freestyle

Knox Pymble3:46.92
Revesby Workers3:51.11

Men’s 4 x 100m Freestyle

University of Queensland3:21.87