Powered By
HomeNews ArticlesSwimming Australia selects Dolphins for World Para Swimming Championships
Australian Dolphins | 12 April 2022

Swimming Australia selects Dolphins for World Para Swimming Championships

Swimming Australia is proud to announce the Australian Dolphins team to compete at the 2022 World Para Swimming Championships in June.

The World Para Swimming Championships team was named at the conclusion of the 2022 Australian Para Swimming Championships in Adelaide.

The squad of 21 includes 19 athletes returning from the Tokyo Paralympics campaign, including newly elected Dolphins Para Athlete Leaders Rowan Crothers, Lakeisha Patterson and Katja Dedekind.

Tokyo Gold medalists Will Martin, Benjamin Hance, Matt Levy and Rachael Watson are also set to compete, while 16-year-old West Australian Alex Saffy will make his Dolphins debut as the sole rookie on the team.

Swimming Australia CEO, Eugénie Buckley, congratulated the team on their selection.

“Our Tokyo Paralympic campaign set an excellent standard and I have no doubt this team will again represent us strongly as we reset for the first international benchmark event of this new cycle,” Buckley said.

“We’ve witnessed first hand the strength and depth of our pathway this week and this squad possesses a fantastic mix of seasoned veterans and our next generation of para swimming stars.”

“Any opportunity to represent our country on the world stage should be cherished and I know this team will perform in a way that continues the proud legacy of the Australian Dolphins.”

The Dolphins team will be led by Head Coach Brenden Burkett and supported by Performance Coach Greg Towle and Team Coaches Nathan Doyle, David Proud, Kate Sparkes and Martin Roberts.

The 2022 World Para Swimming Championships will run from June 12-18 in Madeira, Portugal.

2022 World Para Swimming Championships Australian Dolphins team:

Emily BeecroftUSC Spartans
Rowan CrothersYeronga Park
Katja DedekindYeronga Park
Tom GallagherUSC Spartans
Jasmine GreenwoodBay & Basin
Brenden HallBelgravia
Benjamin HanceUSC Spartans
Timothy HodgeBlacktown
Jack IrelandUniversity of Queensland
Paige LeonhardtBelgravia
Matthew LevyNorth Sydney
William MartinNudgee College
Madeleine McTernanAll Saints
Jake MichelCarina Leagues
Grant PattersonCentral Cairns
Lakeisha PattersonBelgravia
Col PearseNunawading
Alex SaffyBunbury
Keira StephensUSC Spartans
Ruby StormUSC Spartans
Rachael WatsonChandler


Brendan BurkettHead Coach
Greg TowlePerformance Coach
Nathan DoyleUSC Spartans
David ProudNudgee College
Kate SparkesYeronga Park
Martin RobertsAustralian Institute of Sport