35 Swimmers Set Sights on Tokyo with Olympic Team Selection

17 June 2021

The Australian Olympic Committee has announced a powerhouse 35-strong Australian Olympic Swimming Team for Tokyo in Adelaide tonight at the conclusion of the nomination trials.

Emily Seebohm and Cate Campbell join legend Leisel Jones as the only Australian swimmers to ever make four Olympic Games, with the team also including three athletes named to their third Olympics, nine to their second and 21 debutants.

The team selection follows a blistering week of racing, which saw a world record in the 100m backstroke from Kaylee McKeown, Commonwealth records by McKeown (200m Backstroke), Ariarne Titmus (200m and 400m Freestyle) and Zac Stubblety-Cook (200m Breaststroke) and a host of Australian records.

Australian Olympic Team Chef de Mission Ian Chesterman said tonight’s announcement was a great milestone for all 35 athletes.

“Tonight’s selection caps a special week in the pool, with exceptional achievements from our athletes,” Mr Chesterman said. “Swimming has such an incredible Olympic history for our country and this Team is ready to build on that legacy with their own inspiring performances in Tokyo.

“Congratulations to all of the athletes, the coaches, support staff, friends and family who have been there every step of the way to help them realise their Olympic dream.”

“I want to highlight Cate Campbell and Emily Seebohm in particular – achieving a feat of four Olympic Games, only reached by one Australian swimmer in history, is testament to their persistence, character and talent and I am thrilled to have such fantastic ambassadors on the Australian Olympic Team for Tokyo. 

Swimming Australia Head Coach Rohan Taylor congratulated the athletes on their selection.

“I’ve been really pleased with the performances this week,” Taylor said. “It’s so great to be able to get back to quality racing at a meet like this and see our team perform so well. I feel we have a strong team, and I’m particularly pleased with the strength of our relays, it shows the fantastic depth in this squad.

“Getting selected onto the Olympic Games is a real team effort. These athletes have great support behind them, congratulations and thank you to the coaches, support staff and supporters who have helped make this happen.

“We have a big five weeks ahead of us. Now it’s about preparing our athletes for what they’ll experience and get them ready to perform on the biggest stage in the world in Tokyo."

Matt Wilson, former World record-holder, was nominated to the Team under Swimming Australia’s selection policy under extenuating circumstances, with a family bereavement disrupting Wilson’s trial performance and preparation. 

Australian Olympic Swimming Team for Tokyo

•    Bronte Campbell, Knox Pymble, NSW
•    Cate Campbell, Knox Pymble, NSW
•    Tamsin Cook, UWA West Coast, WA
•    Madeleine Gough, TSS Aquatic, QLD
•    Jessica Hansen, Cruiz, ACT
•    Meg Harris, St Peters Western, QLD    
•    Abbey Harkin, St Peters Western, QLD
•    Chelsea Hodges, Southport Olympic, QLD
•    Emma McKeon, Griffith University, QLD
•    Kaylee McKeown, USC Spartans, QLD
•    Kiah Melverton, TSS Aquatic, QLD
•    Leah Neale, Chandler, QLD 
•    Mollie O'Callaghan, St Peters Western, QLD
•    Emily Seebohm, Griffith University, QLD 
•    Jenna Strauch, Bond, QLD 
•    Brianna Throssell, UWA West Coast, WA 
•    Ariarne Titmus St Peters Western, QLD 
•    Madison Wilson, Marion, SA
•    Kyle Chalmers, Marion, SA 
•    Isaac Cooper, Rackley, QLD    
•    Alexander Graham, Bond, QLD
•    Tristan Hollard, Southport Olympic, QLD 
•    Mack Horton, Melbourne Viccentre, VIC 
•    Zac Incerti, UWA West Coast, WA 
•    Mitch Larkin, St Peters Western, QLD    
•    Se-Bom Lee, Carlile, NSW  
•    Cam McEvoy, TSS Aquatic, QLD
•    Jack McLoughlin, Chandler, QLD
•    David Morgan, TSS Aquatic, QLD     
•    Thomas Neill, Rackley, QLD     
•    Brendon Smith, Nunawading, VIC
•    Zac Stubblety-Cook, Chandler, QLD 
•    Matthew Temple, Nunawading, VIC
•    Matthew Wilson, SOPAC Swim, NSW
•    Elijah Winnington, St Peters Western, QLD 

Team Coaches

Rohan Taylor – National Head Coach

•   Peter Bishop
•   Michael Bohl
•   Dean Boxall
•   Simon Cusack
•   Wayne Lawes
•   Chris Mooney
•   Chris Nesbit
•   Michael Palfrey
•   Vince Raleigh

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top