Arnie Astonishes in Adelaide

11 April 2019

Ariarne Titmus has gone sub four minutes in the Women’s 400m Freestyle for the second time in her career to equal her Commonwealth and Australian record of 3:59.66.

Leading for the entire race, the 18-year-old was cheered on by the crowd and her St Peters Western coach Dean Boxall as she touched the wall ahead of Mikayla Messer (4:11.91) from Nudgee College and Acacia Bayside’s Carla Buchanan (4:13.18).

After falling just short to Mitch Larkin (St Peters Western) in the Men’s 100m Backstroke on the opening night, Ravenswood swimmer William Yang took the spoils against Larkin in the Men’s 50m Backstroke. Recording a personal-best time of 24.98, the 20-year-old was ecstatic at the end of the race, winning by 0.08 of a second, with Larkin going 25.06 and William Stockwell from Rackley Swim touching in 25.51 for bronze.

Best mates out of the pool but fierce competitors in, Ahmed Kelly (SM3) from Melbourne Vicentre and Grant Patterson (SM3) Central Cairns went head to head in the Mixed 150m Individual Medley Multi-Class. Touching in a time of 2:56.26, it was Kelly who took the honours ahead of Patterson, 3:06.13.

Nunawading’s Madeleine Scott (S9) came out on top in the Women’s 100m Butterfly Multi-Class event, edging out Traralgon’s Emily Beecroft (S9) who finished second and Nelson Bay’s Taylor Corry (S14) who placed third. Recording a time of 1:08.29 an emotional Corry, secured her spot on the team travelling to the World Para Swimming Championships.

There was a tie for the gold medal in the Men’s 100m Butterfly Multi-Class race, with Auburn’s Timothy Hodge (S9) and USC Spartans’ Braeden Jason (S12) both securing the national title. It was Hodge’s fourth gold medal for the meet, while Jason nabbed his first. World record breaker Liam Schluter (S14) from Kawana Waters continued his momentum from previous nights to claim the bronze.

Yeronga Park’s Rowan Crothers (S10) took home his first title of the meet, winning the Men’s 50m Freestyle Multi-Class in front of Tim ‘Disko’ Disken (S9) from St Hilda’s and Auburn’s Ricky Betar (S14). Clocking a time of 24.37, Betar broke the INAS world record in the event which was previously held by fellow Dolphin Daniel Fox (S14).

It was a similar story in the corresponding women’s event, with Chandler’s Rachael Watson (S4) claiming her first gold medal ahead of Bay & Basin’s rising star Jasmine Greenwood (S10) in the Women’s 50m Freestyle Multi-Class. It was a tie for third position, with Katja Dedekind (S13) from USC Spartans and Katherine Downie from Perth City receiving the bronze. 

Laura Taylor (TSS Aquatics) fought off strong competition from local swimmer Brittany Castelluzzo (Tea Tree Gully) for gold in the Women’s 200m Butterfly touching the wall in 2:08.94 with Castelluzzo in 2:09.55. Taylor’s TSS Aquatics teammate Alice Stuart secured the bronze in 2:10.48.

In the closest of finishes, Rackley’s Louis Townsend clocked 27.72 in the Men’s 50m Breaststroke to be awarded the national title – his first of the meet. Coming in second was USC Spartans’ Jake Packard in 27.82 while Firbank Aquastars’ Samuel Williamson (27.89) stood on the podium to claim the bronze.

An explosive competitor over 50 metres, Nunawading’s Jess Hansen was the one to beat in the Women’s 50m Breaststroke. After qualifying fastest earlier in the day, Hansen held off Southport Olympic’s Chelsea Hodges to take the win, 30.82 to 31.12. Jenna Strauch from Bond, who claimed the 200m breaststroke title on night four, finished third with a time of 32.04.

St Peters Western has once again claimed the top honour in a relay event, this time in the Men’s 4x100m Medley Relay. Mitch Larkin, Michael Ng, Clyde Lewis and Jacob Hansford clocked 3:41.37, finishing ahead of Marion (Travis Mahoney, Joshua Palmer, Kyle Chalmers and Paul Elson) and TSS Aquatic (Connor O’Neill, Cooper van der laan, David Morgan and Grayson Bell).

The crowd were on their feet for the Hancock Prospecting Legend’s Relay, which saw many famous faces take to the pool. Paralympian Sam Bramham claimed the bragging rights for his team in the 4x50m relay, beating out Jessicah Schipper’s team who placed second, Libby Trickett’s team who finished third and Michael Kilm’s side grabbing the fourth spot.

The final day of action kicks off at the SA Aquatic & Leisure Centre at 10:00am when heats get underway, while finals begin at 5:30pm. Make sure you tune in to 7TWO from 8:00pm for live coverage.
To view all results including Age races, click here.

Note: All para races were swum as multi-class races, meaning athletes from all classifications competed in the same event, with the Para-swimmer the highest point score crowned the winner. The Multi-Class Point Score has been developed to provide a simplified way for swimmers and coaches to measure and compare performances. The MCPS is based on the World Record (WR) times for each classification but also takes into account weightings for non-Paralympic events that are not raced by other countries around the world.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top