Camps Converge for United Dolphins

01 February 2021
Dolphins national event camp logo.

Members of the Australian Dolphins swim team (Olympic program) will unite as a group for the first time since 2019 when they travel to the Gold Coast for their National Event Camps (NEC) this week.


Taking place between 3-13 February across three venues – the Gold Coast Aquatic Centre, Bond University and Palm Beach Aquatic Centre – this year’s NECs take on a new format, with all nine camps converging in Queensland rather than scattered camps around the country.


The 10-day event, which aims to create a high intensity training environment, will comprise of three components: freestyle, form stroke and the National Relay Project. Australia’s freestyle specialists will dive in first (3-6 Feb), followed by a whole-team approach to the National Relay Project (7-9 Feb), and conclude with the country’s top form strokers (9-13 Feb).


Cairns - Dolphins WC Camp 2019


Australia’s next wave of elite young talent such as Lani Pallister, Meg Harris and Tom Hauck will also take part in the camps, affording them valuable opportunities to train alongside experienced Olympians in Cate Campbell, Kyle Chalmers, Emma McKeon and Mack Horton.


Not only will the NECs strengthen the athletes’ skills in the pool, but it will also give them the opportunity to connect with past champions of the sport. A dinner with members of the Beijing women’s 4x200m gold medal relay team and the Sydney men’s 4x100m gold medal relay team has been organised – instilling and enriching the history of our Australian Dolphins.


National Team Head Coach, Rohan Taylor, said the camps play an important role in reconnecting the entire team, while also creating an environment conducive to success.


“These National Event Camps are the first opportunity in more than a year for our elite athletes, leading coaches and world-class performance support personnel to come together as a team,” Taylor said.


“With the challenges we had to overcome in 2020 and the months of separation between all of us, we decided to change the format this year and have all the camps in one location so we could reconnect, which is crucial leading into the Olympics. 


“Bringing together the best of the best – including some of the country’s top sport scientists – will enable us to create a high intensity training environment that will ultimately lift performance and unlock that one percent which will be vital for success in Tokyo.


“There’ll also be a big focus on the National Relay Project, with the aim to strengthen our relay teams.


“Relay medals are a key focus for our team and these camps provide a valuable opportunity to work closely with our sports science team to refine our skills.


“The camps are also a key activity in aligning our high performance programs to our strategic goals; building champions both in and out of the pool as well as winning when it matters most to inspire the nation.”


Taylor will be joined by a host of experienced coaches who will lead the individual camps, including Peter Bishop (Marion), Dean Boxall (St Peters Western), Simon Cusack (NSW High Performance Hub Coach), Craig Jackson (Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre High Performance Coach), Vince Raleigh (Brisbane Aquatic Centre High Performance Coach), Adam Kable (NSWIS Hub Coach), Glenn Baker (Southport) and Michael Bohl (Griffith University).


  Camp Coach Athletes
1 Distance

Vince Raleigh

Moesha Johnson (TSS Aquatic), Maddy Gough (TSS Aquatic), Phoebe Hines (USC Spartans), Kiah Melverton (TSS Aquatic), Leah Neale (Chandler), Lani Pallister (Griffith Uni), Mack Horton (Melbourne Vicentre), Jack McLoughlin (Chandler), Sam Short (Rackley), Nick Sloman (Noosa), Mitch Tinsley (Chandler).

2 Breaststroke Chris Mooney

Jess Hansen (Cruiz), Abbey Harkin (St Peters Western), Chelsea Hodges (Southport Olympic), Taylor McKeown (Griffith Uni), Leiston Pickett (Marion), Jenna Strauch (Bond), Tessa Wallace (Pelican Waters), Dan Cave (Melbourne Vicentre), James McKechnie (Starplex), Jake Packard (USC Spartans), Zac Stubblety-Cook (Chandler), Sam Williamson (Firbank Aquastars).

3 Butterfly

Michael Bohl

Brittany Castelluzzo (Tea Tree Gully), Elizabeth Dekkers (Newmarket Racers), Emma McKeon (Griffith Uni), Alice Stuart (TSS Aquatic), Laura Taylor (TSS Aquatic), Shaun Champion (Abbotsleigh), Charlie Cox (St Peters Western), Bowen Gough (Nunawading), David Morgan (TSS Aquatic), Matt Temple (Nunawading).

4 Backstroke

Glenn Baker


Minna Atherton (Moreton Bay), Kaylee McKeown (USC Spartans), Ty Hartwell (Chandler), Tristan Hollard (Southport Olympic), Mitch Larkin (St Peters Western), Travis Mahoney (Marion), Brad Woodward (Mingara Aquatic).




Adam Kable

Meg Bailey (Hunter), Jenna Forrester (St Peters Western), Calypso Sheridan (Moreton Bay), Brendon Smith (Nunawading), Se-Bom Lee (Carlile), Elliot Rogerson (Nunawading), Matt Wilson (SOPAC).  



Peter Bishop

Jack Cartwright (St Peters Western), Kyle Chalmers (Marion), Alex Graham (Bond), Cam McEvoy (TSS Aquatic), James Roberts (Somerset), Louis Townsend (Rackley).



Craig Jackson

Tom Hauck (All Saints Gold Coast), Mack Horton (Melbourne Vicentre), Clyde Lewis (Bond), Jack McLoughlin (Chandler), Mitch Tinsley (Chandler), Elijah Winnington (St Peters Western).

8 W100m 

Simon Cusack

Sydney Brown (Wests Illawarra), Cate Campbell (Knox Pymple), Bronte Campbell (Knox Pymple), Meg Harris (St Peters Western), Emma McKeon (Griffith Uni), Mollie O'Callaghan (St Peters Western), Madison Wilson (Marion).

9 W200m Dean Boxall

Carla Buchanan (Rackley), Kiah Melverton (TSS Aquatic), Leah Neale (Chandler), Lani Pallister (Griffith Uni), Ella Ramsay (St Peters Western), Mikki Sheridan (USC Spartans).


Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top