Clean Sweep for Chalmers

12 April 2019
Kyle Chalmers wins four individual gold

Adelaide’s own Olympic champion Kyle Chalmers (Marion) powered his way through the Men’s 50m Freestyle in a personal best time of 22.07 to claim his fourth gold medal of the meet on the final night of the 2019 Hancock Prospecting Australian Swimming Championships.

As the first event of the evening at the SA Aquatic & Leisure Centre, the frenetic 50m freestyle – which was over in the blink of an eye – had the crowd on its feet. Chalmers’ feat on the last night saw him finish the competition with four individual titles, including the 100m and 200m freestyle, as well as the 100m butterfly. Rackley’s William Stockwell (22.29) placed second to Chalmers in the 50m free, while Grayson Bell from TSS Aquatics touched in 22.42 to nab the bronze.

Collecting his 18th national title, St Peters Western’s Mitch Larkin showed his class in the Men’s 200m Backstroke final, taking home the gold in 1:56.22, ahead of Tristian Hollard (1:57.17) from Southport Olympic and Cameron Tysoe (1:59.10) from Ginninderra. The title marked Larkin’s fourth individual gold of the meet.

A blistering swim from Rockingham’s Holly Barratt in the Women’s 50m Butterfly saw the 31-year-old Dolphin from lane eight beat three-time Olympian Cate Campbell (Knox Pymble), 25.91 to 26.03. In a nail-biting finish, Campbell couldn’t catch Barratt, with Natasha Ramsden from Abbotsleigh collecting the bronze in 27.03.  

A stirring dual between Joshua Parrish (TSS Aquatics) and Ben Roberts (Breakers WA) had the energetic crowd cheering during the Men’s 1500m Freestyle. Roberts led for the majority of the race, only to be caught by a determined Parrish, who pulled out a stunning performance to clinch the gold 15:15.53 to 15:15.66. Parrish’s teammate Max Osborn finished third in 15:26.18.

Calypso Sheridan took home a title on the final night
It was gold for Brisbane Grammar's Calypso Sheridan in the Women's 200m Individual Medley.

After winning two silver medals in the Women’s 200m Backstroke and 400m Individual Medley, Brisbane Grammar’s Calypso Sheridan managed to claim a coveted gold on the last night of the competition. Clocking a time of 2:11.53, Sheridan beat out St Peters Western Abbey Harkin (2:12.26) and UWA West Coasts’ Blair Evans (2:14.29).

It was a tight tussle in the Women’s 100m Backstroke, with Brisbane Grammar’s Minna Atherton touching in 59.71 to pinch the gold in front of USC Spartans’ Kaylee McKeown who stormed home in 59.88 to secure silver and local favourite, Marion’s Madison Wilson (1:00.53) who took home the bronze.

Six-time Paralympic gold medallist Ellie Cole (S9) nabbed her second national title of the meet, scoring herself a gold medal in the Women’s 100m Freestyle Multi-Class. The Knox Pymble product finished ahead of Bay & Basin’s Jasmine Greenwood (S10) and Melbourne Vicentre’s Ashleigh McConnell (S9).

The corresponding event for the men, saw Yeronga Park’s Rowan Crothers take the spoils – and his second title of the meet – in front of Kawana Waters’ Liam Schluter (S14) and Auburn’s Ricky Betar (S14).

UWA West Coasts’ Nicholas Brown won his first title of the meet, taking home the gold in the Men’s 200m Butterfly in a time of 1:56.50. Nunawading’s Bowen Gough was whiskers behind, taking the silver in 1:56.73, while David Morgan from TSS Aquatics received the bronze in 1:57.21.

Nicholas Brown won gold on the final night.
Nicholas Brown was crowned the national champ in the Men's 200m Butterfly.

St Peters Western claimed the final race of the meet – the Women’s 4x100m Medley Relay – and also topped the table in the club point score. The team, comprising of Shayna Jack, Abbey Harkin, Michaela Ryan and Ariarne Titmus, won the gold ahead of Nunawading (Sophie Caldwell, Jess Hansen, Kayla Costa and Julia Hawkins) and Brisbane Grammar (Minna Atherton, Calypso Sheridan, Gemma Cooney and Gabrielle Scudamore).


To view all results including Age races, click here.


Note: All para races were swum as multi-class races, meaning athletes from all classifications competed in the same event, with the Para-swimmer the highest point score crowned the winner. The Multi-Class Point Score has been developed to provide a simplified way for swimmers and coaches to measure and compare performances. The MCPS is based on the World Record (WR) times for each classification but also takes into account weightings for non-Paralympic events that are not raced by other countries around the world.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top