International Swimming League to be broadcast on 7

09 September 2019

Australian swimming stars Kyle Chalmers, Cate and Bronte Campbell, Ariarne Titmus and Mitch Larkin will be just a few of the names competing in a new professional league pitting the world’s best swimmers against each other in a revolutionary club-based competition, which will be shown exclusively live in Australia on 7plus.

The International Swimming League (ISL) will hold its inaugural meet in Indianapolis next month, when eight teams – four from the United States and four from Europe – will compete over two days in a full program of events over 50m to 400m.

This will be the first of seven ISL meets across the United States and Europe in 2019, with the top four teams qualifying for the final in Las Vegas in December.

With more than $5 million in prize money at stake, and most of swimming’s current Olympic champions and world-record holders set to take part, the competition will be fierce and is bound to showcase many of the captivating rivalries expected to take centre stage at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

The international big names competing include Titmus’ great rival Katie Ledecky and fellow giants of the pool Adam Peaty, Sarah Sjostrom, Ryan Murphy, Federica Pellegrini, Chad le Clos and Nathan Adrian.

The Aussie contingent taking part also includes Emma McKeon, Cam McEvoy, Emily Seebohm, Clyde Lewis, Jess Hansen and Holly Barratt, giving swimming fans a chance like never before to track the progress of our Olympic Games medal hopes as Tokyo 2020 draws ever closer.

Swimming Australia Chief Executive Leigh Russell said: “It is fantastic to hear that Channel 7 has secured the exclusive rights to broadcast the ISL in what will already be an exciting 12 months with the Olympics on the horizon.

“Channel 7 is a wonderful partner of swimming in Australia and our fans will now have the opportunity to watch our athletes compete against the world’s best in a brand new format for international swimming – it is an exciting time for our sport.”

Seven’s Head of Sport Saul Shtein said: “The ISL will give swimming an established place in the annual sporting calendar and offers sports fans the chance to watch the world’s best compete regularly in an exciting new format, while this inaugural season should also provide a tantalising lead-in to Tokyo 2020. We’re thrilled to bring it to our viewers and to be adding more premium live content to 7plus."

Swimming fans will also be able to watch highlights of every ISL meet on 7TWO and 7plus.

Kyle Chalmers

TV Broadcast times:

ISL – Group A: Match 1

Indianapolis, USA - October 6 - 7

Sydney 5.00am LIVE on 7plus

Melbourne 5.00am LIVE on 7plus

Brisbane 5.00am LIVE on 7plus

Adelaide 4.30am LIVE on 7plus

Perth 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

 

ISL – Group A: Match 2

Naples, Italy - October 13 - 14

Sydney 4.00am LIVE on 7plus

Melbourne 4.00am LIVE on 7plus

Brisbane 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

Adelaide 3.30am LIVE on 7plus

Perth 1.00am LIVE on 7plus

 

ISL – Group B: Match 1

Dallas, USA - October 20 - 21

Sydney 6.00am LIVE on 7plus

Melbourne 6.00am LIVE on 7plus

Brisbane 5.00am LIVE on 7plus

Adelaide 5.30am LIVE on 7plus

Perth 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

 

ISL – Group B: Match 2

Budapest, Hungary - October 27 - 28

Sydney 4.00am LIVE on 7plus

Melbourne 4.00am LIVE on 7plus

Brisbane 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

Adelaide 3.30am LIVE on 7plus

Perth 1.00am LIVE on 7plus

 

ISL – USA Derby

Washington DC, USA - November 17 - 18

Sydney 6.00am LIVE on 7plus

Melbourne 6.00am LIVE on 7plus

Brisbane 5.00am LIVE on 7plus

Adelaide 5.30am LIVE on 7plus

Perth 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

 

ISL – Europe Derby

London, UK - November 24 - 25

Sydney 4.00am LIVE on 7plus

Melbourne 4.00am LIVE on 7plus

Brisbane 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

Adelaide 3.30am LIVE on 7plus

Perth 1.00am LIVE on 7plus

 

ISL – Final

Las Vegas, USA - December 21 - 22

TBC

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top