Liam Leaps into Record Books

10 April 2019

Kawana Waters’ Liam Schluter (S14) swam his way into the world record books for the Men’s 200m Freestyle Multi-Class on the fourth night of the 2019 Hancock Prospecting Australian Swimming Championships.

Setting a lighting fast time at the SA Aquatic & Leisure centre, the 20-year-old touched in a time of 1:54.79 to surpass Thomas Hamer’s (GBR) time of 1:55.71 which was set in 2018.

The world record marked his second of the meet, after also smashing his own world record time in the Men’s 400m Freestyle Multi-Class. With the news of his achievement still sinking in, Schluter couldn’t contain his excitement.

“It felt awesome, coming in tonight just thinking about the 200m free and preparing myself for it and doing a really good time, I wasn’t thinking I would break a world record, but I’m so happy,” Schluter said.

“My coach said he was very proud of me and just gave me a big ‘well done’, he’s very happy for me, and my mum had a nice big tear in her eye. She came down just before to congratulate me and phone has been buzzing since my race.”

Runner up in the Men’s 200m Freestyle Multi-Class was Auburn’s Ricky Betar (S14), while University of Queensland’s Jack Ireland (S14) placed third.

Olympic champion Kyle Chalmers (Marion) notched up his third title of the meet after he and Elijah Winnington (Bond) battled it out in the centre lanes in the Men’s 200m Freestyle. Eyeballing each for the first 175 metres, the local hero pulled away with 25 metres to go, beating Winnington 1:46.30 to 1:46.91. St Peters Western’s Clyde Lewis received the bronze in 1:47.92.

In a frenetic Women’s 50m Freestyle ‘splash and dash’, it was Knox Pymble’s Cate Campbell who came out on top. Clocking a time of 24.30, the triple Olympian had to compete with St Peters Western’s Shayna Jack, who was hot on her heels every stroke of the way. Jack touched in 24.38, while Bronte Campbell (Knox Pymble) took home the bronze in 24.51.

Bond’s Jenna Strauch was on top of her game in the Women’s 200m Breaststroke, taking the title in a personal best time of 2:24.88 ahead of St Peters Western’s Abbey Harkin (2:25.12). Harkin pushed Strauch all the way to the end, while Zoe Deacon from Nunawading claimed the bronze in 2:27.66.

Lawnton’s Lakeisha Patterson claim the gold medal in the Women’s 200m Freestyle Multi-Class, with Jade Lucy (S14) from SLC Aquadot securing the silver and Madeleine McTernan (S14) from St Hilda’s receiving the bronze.

Swimming out of lane four in the final of the Women’s 200m Backstroke, Minna Atherton recorded her first national title. Finishing in a time of 2:11.18, the Brisbane Grammar product won by the narrowest of margins, touching the wall ahead of fellow teammate Calypso Sheridan (2:11.23) and USC Spartans’, Mikkayla Sheridan (2:12.60).

In a thrilling finish, Mitch Larkin (St Peters Western) claimed his 17th national title when he won gold in the Men’s 400m Individual Medley. The Rio Olympian had tough competition as he was pushed right to the wall by Nunawading’s Brendon Smith, who gained ground on Larkin in the breaststroke and freestyle legs. Larkin touched in 4:14.62, with Smith in 4:14.91, and Kieren Pollard from Breakers WA securing the bronze in 4:21.31.

Jake Michel (S14) added another gold to his tally at the championships after winning the Men’s 100m Breaststroke Multi-Class ahead of Grant Patterson (SB2) from Central Cairns and Timothy Disken (SB8) from St Hilda’s. With a time of 1:06.68, Michel represent Australia for the first time at an international event as he heads to the World Para Swimming Championships later this year.

Rio gold medallist Tiffany Thomas Kane stood atop of the podium for the second time of the meet after winning the Women’s 100m Breaststroke Multi-Class. Having already qualified for the team travelling to the World Para Swimming Championships in the Women’s 200m Individual Medley Multi-Class, the Monte product claimed the title ahead of Ashley Van Rijswijk (SB14) from Wagga Wagga and Fraser Coast’s Keira Stephens (SB9).

In the final events of the night St Peters Western took the spoils in both the Men’s (Larkin, Lewis, Max Carleton & Jacob Hansford) and Women’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay. The women’s team, consisting of Jack, Michaela Ryan, Harkin and Ariarne Titmus, achieved an Australian record (7:57.03) in the process. TSS Aquatics finished second in both races, with their teams comprising of Cameron McEvoy, David Morgan, Max Osborn and Joshua Parrish for the men, and Madeleine Gough, Laura Taylor, Charlotte Mitchell and Kiah Melverton for the women. St Peters Western’s second team in the women’s race (Meg Harris, Sienna McDonald, Nicola Hoskin and Elly O’Donoghue) also claimed bronze.

Day five action from the SA Aquatic & Leisure Centre kicks off with heats at 10:00am, while finals begin at 5:30pm. Make sure you tune in to 7TWO from 8:00pm for live coverage.

To view all results including Age races, click here.

Note: All para races were swum as multi-class races, meaning athletes from all classifications competed in the same event, with the Para-swimmer the highest point score crowned the winner. The Multi-Class Point Score has been developed to provide a simplified way for swimmers and coaches to measure and compare performances. The MCPS is based on the World Record (WR) times for each classification but also takes into account weightings for non-Paralympic events that are not raced by other countries around the world.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top