Melverton Takes the Quaddie, Para Athletes Produce More Record Swims

26 October 2019
Short Course

TSS Aquatic’s Kiah Melverton has dominated the women’s freestyle events at the 2019 Hancock Prospecting Australian Short Course Championships at Melbourne Sports Centres – MSAC, adding the women’s 200m and 1500m freestyle titles to her 400m and 800m triumphs. 

Kiah Melverton

After swimming to victory in the 1500m timed final in the morning session on the third and final day, came out strong in the final of the 200m free later that evening to post Melverton (1:56.75) . MLC Aquatic teenager Gabriella Peiniger (1:57.06) was hot on her tail, 0.26 behind Melverton at the wall, with Elyse Woods (Melbourne Vicentre) securing the bronze in 1:58.06.

Moments before Peiniger lined up in the 200m free, the young gun claimed her second gold medal of the meet as she blitzed the field to take out the Women’s 200m Individual Medley. The Victorian posted an impressive time of 2:06.36 making her the third-fastest Australian of all time. She touched ahead of Hunter’s Meg Bailey (2:09.42) and Tessa Wallace (Pelican Waters) who picked up her third medal of the meet to claim bronze in 2:11.16.

Ahmed Kelly

Earlier this morning, Ahmed Kelly (SM3) smashed the world record in the Men’s 150m Individual Medley Multi-Class to take gold and the title. His exceptional swim of 2:55.11 (1195 points) saw him swipe nearly 10 seconds off the record, which has been held since 2015 by his best mate Grant ‘Scooter’ Patterson. 

After breaking the world record in this morning’s heat session in the Women’s 100m Butterfly Multi-Class, Nelson Bay’s Taylor Corry (S14) carried her momentum into the final to claim her third gold medal of the meet. The butterfly specialist powered home in 1:07.04 (994 points), to take the top honour ahead of Traralgon’s Ruby Storm (S14) who clocked 1:10.73 (847 points) and Emily Beecroft (S9) who touched in 1:13.99 (750 points).

In the corresponding event for the men, University of Queensland’s Jack Ireland (S14) (59.54, 896 points) claimed his sixth medal of the meet after taking out top spot in the Men’s 100m Butterfly. He beat out TSS Aquatic’s Daniel Fox (S14) (1:00.45, 856 points) who secured silver ahead of para world champ bronze medallist Col Pearse (S10) (Melbourne H20) (59.23, 790 points), who picked up third spot.

In the Men’s 100m Butterfly, TSS Aquatic’s David Morgan (51.06) claimed his sixth consecutive 100m butterfly title ahead of fellow Dolphin Matt Temple (Nunawading) who secured the silver in 51.37 and Nicholas Brown (UWA West Coast) who touched for bronze in 51.79. All three finished ahead of Joseph Schooling (Singapore), the current 100m Butterfly Olympic champion.

David Morgan

Storm (SB14) also snared her second gold medal of the three-day competition on the final night, taking the spoils in the Women’s 100m Breaststroke Multi-Class. Posting 1:18.77 (889 points), the 15-year-old left nothing in the tank to finish ahead of Melbourne Torpedoes’ Jamie-Lee Getson (SB14) who hit the wall in 1:20.93 (820 points) and TSS Aquatic’s Zoe Mackenzie (SB9) (1:22.88, 737 points) who rounded out the podium.

TSS Aquatic product Laura Taylor (2:07.14) defended her title in the Women’s 200m Butterfly, holding out Meg Bailey (Hunter) who pushed her all the way to the wall. Bailey (2:07.25) added a silver to her two golds won earlier in the meet, with Tea Tree Gully’s Brittany Castelluzzo (2:09.31) picking up the bronze.

Sam Williamson (Firbank Aquastars) was again impressive on the final night as he took the breaststroke treble winning the Men’s 200m Breaststroke in 2:07.43, after claiming the 50 and 100 metre titles on nights one and two. James McKechnie (Starplex) also made it three in a row as he picked up the silver in 2:07.86 and Daniel Cave (Melbourne Vicentre) secured the bronze medal in 2:10.37.


In the non-championship event of the night – the Mixed 4x50m Freestyle Relay – the team of Rowan Crothers, Ruby Storm, Elyse Woods and Benno Negri claimed bragging rights and prize pool. In an Australian first, the team consisted of one male and female para athlete and one male and female able-bodied athlete.

View all results including relays, click here.

Catch the video highlights on swimTV.

Note: All para races were swum as multi-class races, meaning athletes from all classifications competed in the same event, with the para swimmer achieving the highest point score crowned the winner. The Multi-Class Point Score (MCPS) has been developed to provide a simplified way for swimmers and coaches to measure and compare performances. The MCPS is based on the World Record (WR) times for each classification but also takes into account weightings for non-Paralympic events that are not raced by other countries around the world.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top