Titmus Thrills to Take Title

09 April 2019

Setting a new Australian and Commonwealth record in the Women’s 200m Freestyle, St Peters Western’s Ariarne Titmus blitzed the field in a time of 1:54.30 to claim another title at the 2019 Hancock Prospecting Australian Swimming Championships.
Already achieving a gold medal in the 800m free and the 4x100m freestyle relay, the 18-year-old secured the crown in front of Griffith University’s Emma McKeon (1:56.00), while local Dolphin Madison Wilson (Marion) took home the bronze with a time of 1:56.90.
After powering through and taking the top honour in the Men’s 100m Backstroke Multi-Class event on night two, Timothy Hodge (S9) set the pool alight on Tuesday evening. In his first event of the night, the Auburn product set a new world record to take gold in the Men’s 50m Backstroke Multi-Class race. Fittingly, the 18-year-old broke the record with a time of 29.70 in the very pool named after the athlete who set the record of 29.80 in 2007 – South Australian’s own Paralympian, Matt Cowdrey. Finishing a close second was Rod Welsh (S10) from Yarra Plenty while the bronze went to Brisbane Jet, Harrison Vig (S9).
In his second event Hodge also came out on top – claiming the gold medal in the Men’s 200m Individual Medley Multi-Class. He finished ahead of Kawana Waters’ Liam Schluter (SM14) and Auburn teammate Ricky Betar (SM14).
Fresh from the pool, Hodge said he was buoyed by his results.
“It’s definitely something I’ve been looking forward too (breaking the record) – I’ve been chasing that record for four or five years now,” Hodge said.
“I’ve always had it in the back of my mind when I do a 50m backstroke, and it’s rather ironic that I break it in a pool named after the record holder – it’s one in a lifetime.”
St Peters Western’s Mitch Larkin stood atop of the podium to collect his gold medal in the Men’s 200m Individual Medley – marking his third national title at the championships. In a dominant display, the Rio Olympian broke away from the pack with more than 25 metres to go to beat SOPAC’s Matthew Wilson by more than two seconds, 1:56.83 to 1:59.41. Placing third was Jared Gilliland from Brisbane Grammar (2:00.07).
In the tightest of finishes, TSS Aquatics teammates Kiah Melverton and Maddy Gough battled it out in the Women’s 1500m Freestyle, with Melverton nabbing the gold in the final few strokes in 15:58.09 and Gough whiskers behind in 15:58.26. Nunawading’s Sophie Caldwell touched for the bronze in 16:27.61.

Kaylee McKeown (USC Spartans) added another title to her 2019 national championships’ campaign, touching first in the Women’s 50m Backstroke. In a fast-paced sprint to the finish, the 17-year-old recorded a time of 27.65 to secure the gold in front of Brisbane Grammar’s Minna Atherton (28.03) and Rockingham’s Holly Barratt (28.22).
SOPAC’s Matthew Wilson, who set a new Australian and Commonwealth record in the Men’s 200m Breaststroke on Monday night, capitalised on his momentum the following evening. Speeding away at the 25-metre mark in the 100m breaststroke, Wilson clocked 59.67 to beat out Zac Stubblety-Cook (1:00.20) from West Brisbane and Melbourne Vicentre’s Daniel Cave (1:00.22).
Bay and Basin’s rising star Jasmine Greenwood (SM10) collected the national title in the Women’s 200m Individual Medley Multi-Class. The 14-year-old took the title ahead of silver medallist, Perth City’s Katherine Downie (SM10) and bronze medallist, Lawnton’s Lakeisha Patterson (SM9).
A superb performance by Nelson Bay’s Taylor Corry (S14) in the Women’s 50m Backstroke Multi-Class has seen the experienced campaigner edge closer to the history books. The win marked her 16th gold medal at an Australian Championships – one more title would see her equal the national record of 17 for a female para athlete. Securing silver was St Hilda’s Madeleine McTernan (S14) and Nicole Fielden (S14) from the University of Queensland received the bronze.
For the third consecutive night, St Peters Western took the spoils in the relay event, with the team of Jacob Hansford, Max Carleton, Mitch Larkin, Clyde Lewis beating out TSS Aquatics (Cameron McEvoy, David Morgan, Grayson Bell and Josh Parrish) and Ravenswood (Jack Edie, Andrew Newling, Bailey Myles and Lewis Blackburn).
Day four action from the SA Aquatic & Leisure Centre kicks off with heats at 10:00am, while finals begin at 5:30pm. Make sure you tune in to 7TWO from 8:00pm.
To view all results including Age races, click here.
Note: All para races were swum as multi-class races, meaning athletes from all classifications competed in the same event, with the Para-swimmer the highest point score crowned the winner. The Multi-Class Point Score has been developed to provide a simplified way for swimmers and coaches to measure and compare performances. The MCPS is based on the World Record (WR) times for each classification but also takes into account weightings for non-Paralympic events that are not raced by other countries around the world.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top