World Para Swimming Returns to Melbourne

07 October 2019
Grant Patterson prepares for take off.

For the second consecutive year, the World Para Swimming World Series will kick off in Australia, with Swimming Victoria hosting the first leg of the international competition at the Melbourne Sports Centres – MSAC.

World Para Swimming recently announced the details of the 2020 Series, with seven cities across four continents set to host the competition from February to June.

The Australian leg will take place between 14-16 February and will see more than one hundred athletes descend on Melbourne to vie for gold, silver and bronze medals. The competition also coincides with the Victorian Open Long Course Championships, with the World Para Series to be integrated into the program thanks to Swimming Victoria who are the local organising committee.

Ahmed Kelly - World Para Series Melbourne
Ahmed Kelly competes at last year's competition in Melbourne.

Tracy Glassford, World Para Swimming’s Senior Manager said the Series would provide important experience leading into the Tokyo Paralympics.

“The 2020 World Series will be the first to take place in a Paralympic Games year, offering swimmers from all over the world the chance to plan next season in advance and to compete in high-level events in preparation for Tokyo 2020. It will also give Para-swimming fans the opportunity to start following the amazing athletes they will watch competing at the Paralympics,” she said.

“The World Series is now well established as a platform for new swimmers to come onto the international scene at the same time that it offers the world’s best athletes a more consistent competition calendar. We take this opportunity to thank all Local Organising Committees, and share with them the success of the competition.”

Last season’s competition in Melbourne proved fruitful for the Australians, finishing with nine gold, 15 silver and 14 bronze medals. Across the course of the entire season, the Series saw over 1,300 swimmers from 84 countries compete, with Spain’s Antoni Ponce crowned the men’s individual winner and Great Britain’s Alice Tai taking the women’s individual title.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top