HomeNews ArticlesDolphins Dive into Final Night
Australian Dolphins | 03 August 2022

Dolphins Dive into Final Night

The Australian Swimming Team is set to dive into the final night of competition at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The Dolphins will look to cap off what has been an historic Games in the pool with a final nine medal races on the docket.

To open the session, Se-Bom Lee races in the Men’s 200m Individual Medley with from lane 6 with teammate Brendon Smith in lane 1.

Three gold caps swim in the Women’s 200m Freestyle S14, headlined by Paralympic medallist Madeleine McTernan from lane 6. Jade Lucy and Ruby Storm join McTernan from lanes 1 and 7 respectively  in the final.

In the Men’s 200m Freestyle S14 Paralympic Champion Benjamin Hance starts from lane 5 with Aussies Liam Schluter from lane 6 and Jack Ireland in lane 8.

In the fastest race of the Games, the Men’s 50m Freestyle, Tom Nowakowski lines up from lane 6 in his first Commonwealth Games. Fellow debutant Grayson Bell will race from an outside lane 8.

At these Games, Kaylee McKeown has picked up a staggering four medals including three golds. In the Women’s 50m Backstroke tonight from lane 3, she will look to pick up one more as she joins lane 6’s Mollie O’Callaghan and Bronte Job from lane 2.

Seeking to snag a second medal from Birmingham, 18-year-old Sam Short lines up from lane 4 in the Men’s 1500m Freestyle. Kieren Pollard swims alongside Short from lane 5.

Ariarne Titmus, Lani Pallister and Kiah Melverton have already landed themselves Commonwealth Games medals from Birmingham but there is still more in the tank. The trio will swim in lanes 3, 6 and 7 in the final of the Women’s 400m Freestyle.

The Australian line-up of Mitch Larkin, Sam Williamson, Cody Simpson, and William Xu Yang booked the Australian Men’s 4x100m Medley Relay a lane 4 spot in the final from today’s morning session.

In the final race of the session, and the final race of the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games, the Australian Women’s 4x100m Medley Relay starts in lane 5. Australia has won the event at every Commonwealth Games since Auckland 1990.

Day 6 Finals

Men’s 200m Individual MedleySe-Bom Lee – Lane 6

Brendon Smith – Lane 1

Women’s 200m Freestyle S14Jade Lucy – Lane 1

Madeleine McTernan – Lane 6

Ruby Storm – Lane 7

Men’s 200m Freestyle S14Benjamin Hance – Lane 5

Liam Schluter – Lane 6

Jack Ireland – Lane 8

Men’s 50m FreestyleTom Nowakowski – Lane 6

Grayson Bell – Lane 8

Women’s 50m BackstrokeBronte Job – Lane 2

Kaylee McKeown – Lane 3

Mollie O’Callaghan – Lane 6

Men’s 1500m FreestyleSam Short – Lane 4

Kieren Pollard – Lane 5

Women’s 400m FreestyleAriarne Titmus – Lane 3

Lani Pallister – Lane 6

Kiah Melverton – Lane 7

Men’s 4x100m Medley RelayAustralia – Lane 4
Women’s 4x100m Medley RelayAustralia – Lane 5